top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search

The Most Fun So Far

Yesterday was the best day I have had, by far. I was with my placement at the German class when it all started. Usually I take the five or so German 4 students into the hallway and work on conversation and some reading, but this fateful day we worked on essays. I remember writing essays when I was in German, and can recall being very bored and not excited to write. Luckily, my students had already written their essays, and I was there to help them revise their essays.


I was told to help one student specifically, and had no problem doing so. I had her share her essay with me on google drive, so I would not have to keep reaching over her to show her what to fix. As I was reading, I only saw that she had one problem: word order. We started fixing the essay by going sentence by sentence. The very first sentence needed a lot of work, but I was immediately glad to see that she knew it was wrong.


I coached her way through fixing the first paragraph, which took about an hour. Halfway through, though, she started to get the hang of it. At one point I had her read a sentence out loud, probably twenty times, because I knew she could come up with the proper way to fix it. After a couple of minutes, she quietly whispered the right answer, thinking it was wrong. I got so excited I shouted in the middle of the hallway. I could not believe how much fun I was having, and how she was learning right in front of me. I must have gotten too excited, because a teacher in another room had to come out and ask me to quiet down.


I never thought helping someone write an essay would cause me to have this much fun.


14 views
bottom of page