top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search

Engagement

In my placements, and especially the music classrooms, I have noticed how important engagement is in the success of the class. One big question I have been struggling with is how to approach students who are simply not engaged. From my own education experience (not my placements) I have seen that exposing unfocused students is not the best way to handle such situations.


Anyone who can answer the question of how to keep all students engaged 100% of the time, deserves the Nobel Peace Prize. While I do not have the answer to this question, I have seen some techniques used to address this topic. In music classes, the teachers get student input on what pieces to play, and choose material at the level of the students. This keeps students of all playing abilities engaged, and gives them a healthy challenge. Similarly, in my German field placement, the teacher chooses reading materials based on the interests of students, and often debatable topics, so students can focus on supporting their claims with evidence, and listen to others opinions.


While I have seen teachers do their best to design lessons to keep students engaged, some students still drift off. I have been wondering how teachers try to get them back into the class. As I said earlier, pointing them out in front of the class is not always what is best. I have seen some teachers give students "brain breaks" for 30 seconds, so students who are not engaged can take some time to refocus on the lesson. In addition to this, I have seen teachers walk around the room, which helps students feel the presence of the teacher and reengage. I am looking forward to seeing new techniques teachers use to gain the attention, or regain the attention of the students.


2 views
bottom of page