top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search

Normal Day

Updated: Mar 12, 2019

I feel like I have been writing mainly about interesting or exciting things that I have noticed in my classroom placements, but today I thought it would be a fun idea to describe a normal day (even though everyday is unlike the other) at each of my placements.


To begin my week, I journey to Pilgrim Park Middle School. After I check in at the office, I take a short walk to the band room, where I am greeted by Mr. Rakowiecki and Mr. Ruth. After the passing period, sixth graders come flooding in, and take out their instruments while finding their seats. Once the bell rings, students are usually in their seats and ready to start (key word: usually). After Mr. Rak tells them the plan for the hour, I make my way towards the back, where I can help with the percussionists. Throughout the class I help the students with technique, note identification, rhythm reading, and other skills. It is hard for them to pay attention, since they are always in the back, and they have to stand the entire hour, so I make sure they stay focused. After the bell rings, the students sprint out of the classroom, and I relax for a while. Sometimes I will stay and have a conversation with Mr. Rak, or I will work on my coursework. My favorite part of this placement is hearing students progress, and seeing how the teachers work together to help the students reach their goals.


On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I take a nice car ride to Brookfield East High School. Upon entry, I wander to the foreign language section of the school, and into Frau Sommer's room. I sit on the side, and in front of the classroom. That way I can see the classroom from a teacher's point of view, but also not be in the way or distracting. As the class goes on, I go around to the 8 students and ask if they need help, and usually proofread sentences. Sometimes, I cannot tell if they are right or wrong, so I will refer them to Frau Sommers if I am not confident. Once in a while, I will work with a student one on one, or with a pair, and go in depth with them on a topic they struggle with. I also get to help lead the class on certain exercises and games, which is fun for me. My favorite part about this placement is being able to work with students who may be older than me and may know much more than me about German, and being able to still help them and gain their respect as a "teacher".


Lastly, on Wednesdays, I speed over to Dixon Elementary. I make my way through the office, and say hi to the kind women who work there. I take the stairs up to the second floor, and walk into the orchestra room. When I get there, it is just Ms. Rindt, since she has prep when I arrive. She usually shows me what she is doing, and offers me advice as to how to organize and stay ahead of everything. She is the queen of organization online. Her spreadsheets are well laid out, and it makes her life easier, knowing where to find information. On some days, I will go and tune the basses and cellos, to make things less chaotic once the students do arrive. At 2:00 the fourth grade students start to trickle in, and I take my position. One by one, they bring me their instruments to be tuned, and some have strings completely unraveled. Once tuning is done, I grab my violin and float around the room during rehearsal and help students with their technique, note identification, and keep them focused (similar to my placement at Pilgrim Park). My favorite part about this placement is the fact that I can help so much. I love sharing what I know, and watching the students grow in their abilities.


On Thursdays, I relax with the rest of the Launch Future teachers class. Most weeks, we will do a discussion where everyone can share their experiences. I love hearing how everyone else is enjoying their time, and to hear all of the funny stories.

7 views
bottom of page